University of Southern Indiana
USI logo, retreat name, and date

LA EDIC Retreat

The College of Liberal Arts Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee (LA EDIC) will host our first virtual retreat via Zoom on August 12 from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

We have a day full of speakers, panel discussions and breakout rooms planned, all based around our mission and vision. To participate in the conversations, join our Zoom session.

See the program below to get an idea of what's in store.

Zoom Icon
Join Our ​Zoom Session
on August 12
PDF Icon
LA EDIC Retreat Program
ZIP Icon
Retreat Reading Materials

Guest Speakers

Mrs. Sheila Huff


Director of Strategic Engagements
Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation

  • Former principal of both Glenwood Middle School (2000-2008) and Bosse High School (2009-2018) in Evansville, IN
  • Former adjunct professor for USI (1990-2015)
  • Member of multiple community boards including Leadership Evansville, Habitat for Humanity, and the Youth First Social Work Advisory Board
  • Achievements include:
    • Willie Effie Thomas Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Human RightsNAACP (2018)
    • Sagamore of the Wabash State Award (2016)
    • Leadership Evansville Lifetime Achievement Award (2016)
    • Peabody Energy Leaders in Education Award (2015)
Mr. Kelley Coures


Executive Director of Department of Metropolitan Development
Evansville, IN

  • Executive Director the City of Evansville Department of Metropolitan Development (2014 - present)
  • USI Alumnus (Economics)
  • Past Board Treasurer for AIDS Resource Group
  • Current Board: River City Pride, an Evansville LGBTQIA advocacy group
Dr. Rev. JC Campbell


Executive Pastor of New Hope Baptist Church (The Hope)
Evansville, IN

Before entering full-time ministry, JC’s career began in education and fundraising. JC served as a teacher and community liaison with the Jefferson County Public School System. JC has also taken his talents to the higher education and non-profit sector as well. He served in the Alumni relations department for both the University of Evansville and Kentucky State University and served as the Vice President for Development and Communications at the Boys and Girls Clubs of Kentuckiana. JC’s passion and enthusiasm for philanthropy has been the source of numerous awards and recognitions, notably the Louisville Metro Council Merit Recognition, the MLK Service award from the Kentucky Governor, and the Association of Fundraising Professionals Young Philanthropist of the Year Award. JC also is the President of the Campbell Philanthropic Group; a consulting firm that specializes in offering training and best practices for religious organizations.

Mr. Alex Burton


City Council President
Evansville, IN

Alex Burton was born and raised in Evansville, IN. He is a proud graduate of Bosse High School where he played basketball and football. In addition to playing sports, he also was a part of Youth Resources. Alex graduated from Western Kentucky University in the fall of 2011. While at WKU, Alex taught and advised undergraduate students, and interned for two Members of Congress.

After graduation, Alex moved back home and started working for Old National Bank and in 2015, he ran for City Council and won the primary election handily, however, he lost in the general. Immediately following the election, Alex remained involved in the community and has been at the forefront of several initiatives that relate to workforce development, youth, and economic progress.

Dr. De Bryant


Professor of Psychology
Director of Social Action Project
Indiana University South Bend

Research objectives are “to develop and replicate arts-based models for community building and empowerment; to create psychological assessment tools sensitive to differences caused by race, gender, and class inequities; and to establish university-community partnerships to bring about social justice.”

Other interests: international service-learning, qualitative research methodologies, interfaith initiatives in social justice.

  • Faculty Colloquium on Excellence in Teaching (FACET) member (inducted 1999)
  • Recipient of the IU South Bend Eldon Lundquist Faculty Fellowship (2006)

Contact Dr. Sakina Hughes


Send Email to