University of Southern Indiana

'The Shield' named ICPA Division II Newspaper of the Year, wins 33 total awards

'The Shield' named ICPA Division II Newspaper of the Year, wins 33 total awards

4/17/2017 | University Communications
News Photo

The Shield, the University of Southern Indiana student-run newspaper, was named the Division II Newspaper of the Year and was awarded 33 staff and individual awards by the Indiana Collegiate Press Association (ICPA) at the organization’s annual conference on April 8 in Indianapolis.

“I'm incredibly proud of everyone on staff and the work they have done this year,” said Sarah Loesch, 2016-17 Shield editor-in-chief. “The multiple staff awards show how well the entire newsroom works together. I'm incredibly grateful to be a part of that this year and I look forward to seeing the staff continue success in the future.”

This marks the fourth time in five years that The Shield has been named Division II Newspaper of the Year, which includes non-daily collegiate newspapers in Indiana with enrollment exceeding 3,001 students. In 2016, The Shield was named a Pacemaker Award finalist by the Associated Collegiate Press.

Below is the full list of awards won by The Shield staff and students at that 2017 ICPA conference:

First Place

  • Division II Newspaper of the Year
  • Best Continuous Coverage of a Single Story - Gabi Wy and Sarah Loesch – “Speech on campus”
  • Best Feature Page – “2/4/2016”
  • Best Illustration - Philip Kuhns – “9/1/2016”
  • Best Non-Deadline News Story -Sarah Loesch and Gabi Wy – “Youth can influence this election'”
  • Best Opinion Column - Gabi Wy – “Faking it”
  • Best Photo Essay/Picture Story – “A Crowning Moment”
  • Best Review - Gavin Gaddis – “Mr. Burns' lacking crucial spark”
  • Best Special Issue – “Transitions”
  • Best Special Section Front/Cover - Jessica Stallings – “Transitions 2016”
  • Best Sports Page – “12/1/2016”
  • Best Themed Issue - Staff – “The Sex Issue”

Second Place

  • Best Continuous Coverage of a Single Story – Bobby Shipman, Armon Siadat, Gabi Wy – “Sexual assault on campus”
  • Best Entertainment Column - Megan Thorne – “Comedy is a brilliant vehicle”
  • Best News or Feature Series - Gabi Wy – “The Civility Series”
  • Best Pull-Out/Wrap Section – “Election Guide”
  • Best Single Issue – “2/18/2016”
  • Best Special Issue – “Spring Talon”
  • Best Sports Column - Sarah Loesch – “Respect the ribbon”
  • Best Staff Editorial – “Don't be blindsided by your ballot”

Third Place

  • Best B&W House Ad - Jessica Stallings – “Work for us”
  • Best Full Color Display Ad - Jessica Stallings – “USI Theatre”
  • Best Rate Card - Jessica Stallings – “From Here To There”
  • Best Entertainment Column - Abigail Suddarth – “Student-run play focuses on 'Peanuts' characters”
  • Best Feature Photo - Alyssa Smith – “1/21/2016”
  • Best Informational Graphic - Jessica Stallings – “4/14/2016”
  • Best News or Feature Series - Megan Thorne – “Far from Familiar”
  • Best News Photo - Alyssa Smith - “4/28/2016”
  • Best Photo Essay/Picture Story - Gabi Wy – “8/18/2016”
  • Best Review - Gavin Gaddis – “Love: Positively pretentious pornography”
  • Best Sports Feature Story - Sarah Loesch - “’No-brainer inductee' enters Hall of Fame”
  • Best Sports Photo - Alyssa Smith – “3/17/2016”
  • Best News Feature Reporting Online - Megan Thorne – “Dick pics' on the rise”
  • Best Overall Website Design –

For more information about The Shield, visit their website at

News Photo

Photo Credit: Erin Gibson

Staff members of The Shield and faculty advisor Erin Gibson at the 2017 ICPA Conference in Indianapolis

Contact John Farless


Send Email to